MICHIGAN JUDGES ASSOCIATION

Founded in 1927

Annual Membership Meeting Agenda

Sunday, August 11, 2024

4 pm, Cypress Room, Mission Point Resort, Mackinac Island

1. **Approval of the Minutes** – Annual Meeting August 2023

Hon. Gerald Prill, Secretary

2. Treasurer's Report

Hon. Qiana Lillard, Treasurer

3. President's Report & Recognition of Past Presidents

Hon. Kathleen A. Feeney, President

4. Introduction of New Members, Recognition of 2022-23 MJA Retirees, Honor Roll of Obituaries

Hon. Gerald Prill, Secretary and Master of Video Presentations

- 5. Committee Reports:
 - **A.** Legislative Hon. Christopher Yates & Hon. Jeff Matis
 - B. Rules Hon. Tina Yost Johnson & Hon. Carla Testani
 - C. Family Law Hon. Deborah McNabb & Hon. Lisa McCormick
 - **D.** Civil Law Hon. Joseph Toia & Hon. Joseph Rossi
 - **E. Criminal Law** Hon. Kwame Rowe & Hon. Paul Stutesman
 - F. Judicial & Community Outreach Hon. Michael Warren & Hon. Daniel Damman
 - G. Bylaws Hon. Margaret Zuzich Bakker

6. Election of Officers – Proposed Slate

Hon. Michelle Rick, Past President, to introduce nominees:

President – Hon. Charles LaSata (Berrien County)

President-Elect – Hon. Janice Cunningham (Eaton County)

Vice President – Hon. Gerald Prill (Huron County)

Secretary – Hon. Qiana Lillard (Wayne County)

Treasurer – Hon. Christopher Ninomiya (Dickinson, Iron, Menominee Counties)

7. Election of Representatives for Executive Board:

Hon. Janice Cunningham, MJA President Elect, to introduce nominees:

District 1: No nominations have been received and one seat is open.

District 2: Honorable Joseph Toia is seeking reelection.

District 3: Honorable Patrick Conlin is seeking reelection. There is also an open seat in District 3 for a term ending 2025 due to the resignation of Judge Annette Smedley.

District 4: There are two open seats for this district. One seat is open because the Honorable Christopher Ninomiya is now an officer; his term ended in 2025, and the judge elected to this position will have a term ending at the end of 2025. The second open seat in this district is for a term ending 2026 due to the resignation of Judge Wanda Stokes, whose term ends this year. The Honorable Colin Hunter, Honorable Jason Elmore and Honorable Daniel Damman are requesting nomination for these positions.

Nominations will also be accepted from the floor.

Nomination Chart:

District 1 - (1 open seat)

(Branch, Hillsdale, Kalamazoo, Lenawee, Monroe, St. Joseph & Wayne)

District 2 – Hon. Joseph Toia (Macomb County)

(Genesee, Macomb & Oakland)

District 3 – Hon. Patrick Conlin (Washtenaw County) plus (1 open seat)

(Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Calhoun, Cass, Eaton, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Mason, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newago, Oceana, Ottawa, Van Buren & Washtenaw)

District 4 – (2 open seats)

(Alcona, Alger, Alpena, Antrim, Arenac, Baraga, Bay, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Clare, Clinton, Crawford, Delta, Dickinson, Emmet, Gladwin, Gogebic, Grand Traverse, Gratiot, Houghton, Huron, Ingham, Iosco, Iron, Isabella, Kalkaska, Keweenaw, Lake, Lapeer, Leelanau, Livingston, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Manistee, Mecosta, Menominee, Midland, Missaukee, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Ontonagon, Osceola, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, St. Clair, Sanilac, Schoolcraft, Shiawassee, Tuscola & Wexford)

Nominations will also be accepted from the floor.

- 8. Old Business
- 9. New Business
- 10. Adjournment

The 2025 MJA Annual Conference will be held Sunday, August 17-19, 2025 at Mission Point Resort